Picture By Jakari Ward

STORIES: From Hernia To Indestructible Back

Mateo Melichar
6 min readFeb 24, 2020

You know that time when you struggle to bend over and get where you want to go. Our body carries us around from A to B; it never stops to work and takes over the load, stress, and protects us.

Today, I want to tell you a story about a friend I dearly admire. His name is Frank; he lives in Spain near the Barcelona coast; he has a lovely family, two kids, and a charming wife.

He is managing the operational side at a midsized company. He leads by inspiration, integrity, and kindness are traits that he breathes and abides.

Once, I had a chance to attend his presentation and was truly inspired and moved.

We have met, and Frank hosted my girlfriend and me in his lovely house. We had a great afternoon in the sun, drinking beer and enjoying fantastic bbq.

At one moment, I noticed that Frank is not walking very smoothly; my curiosity led me to ask what happened. It seemed that Frank has just had a massage a day before because he hurt his back; it seemed like a hernia.

According to Webmd; A hernia occurs when an organ or fatty tissue squeezes through a weak spot in a surrounding muscle or connective tissue called fascia. The most common types of hernia are inguinal (inner groin), incisional (resulting from an incision), femoral (outer groin), umbilical…

--

--

Mateo Melichar

I love to blog about life, how to have kickass energy, and be consistent — author of Mastering Body, Mind & Health